Plucking hell

There is an oddness about preparing for this latest album. It’s all about the tuning. I think it’s going to be an album of drop D tuning for me. I’m not sure why I haven’t done it before. Being more rhythm guitar it makes sense to make things easier to play and sing. Which leads to another thing, singing. I still don’t feel I’ve found my style. Maybe it’s a product of thinking too much and not giving out enough expression. It’s sometimes very difficult to feel relaxed when writing and playing new songs. Trying to find your ‘soul’ in a track. I sometimes find it frustrating and I want to get everything correct right away, but I guess there’s always a degree of feeling your way around at the start of anything new. 

Here’s to the new tuning, new sound, new direction and new…blah?

Leave a Reply

