Flashback – HowManyDevils1

HMD1_Booklet_HiRes_Front
We are very, very close to (i.e. months of tweaking mixes away from) releasing Space Cowboys Under The Sea Of Japan.  Our third full length album.  I thought I take a look back at the first (which is streamable on SoundCloud), HowManyDevils1 or as it was known at the time HowManyDevils.  The obvious thing that has changed in the nearly 20 years that have passed is that we’ve got more imaginative with the album titles.  We’ve also lost a drummer, the career path has paralleled Spinal Tap in that respect.  Technology has changed: in 1998 we recorded HowManyDevils1 in an old factory in Sheffield squeezing 6 tracks out of two four-track cassette machines, in 2014 we recorded Flesh Reunion with near unlimited digital tracks on a laptop.

Have we changed musically?  I’m the not the right person to answer that, listen to Flesh Reunion on SoundCloud and tell us if we’ve changed!  I’ll have to ask the others about their influences then and now.  I know at the time the significant bands to me were Nirvana, Manic Street Preachers, Mansun, Placebo, and a little bit of Nine Inch Nails snuck in.  Simon was probably listening to Smashing Pumpkins, Hole, and Babes In Toyland.  From a 90’s point of view I know Pete was in to Pearl Jam, but Pete always had broader tastes that just what was happening at the time.

 

2 thoughts on “Flashback – HowManyDevils1

  1. So close! Vocal work to do and a couple of musical fanciments to add. It’s interesting to think that there is such a gap between the first and second albums. From a musical point of view I can hear the same vein of taste and direction running through them. I myself, haven’t spent the time between the two playing guitar and becoming a God of shred, but I think the signs are there that we have all matured in our playing and particularly in our writing. We still work together like old friends and I feel it’s shows.
    Our tastes in what we listen to has bound to have changed a little, but quite honestly I still listen to most of the stuff I did at the time of the first album, and that stuff seems to be finding a new audience these days. Both L7 and Babes in Toyland have recently toured. Courtney Love was doing the rounds a year or two ago with talks of a Hole reunion. The Smashing Pumpkins are still rolling on in the latest version, (I don’t think Mr Corgan will ever drop the baton) and the Meat Puppets are on the road. It’s a good musical time people! Inspiration abounds!

    Like

Leave a Reply

